Advice needed on what to purchase- Iris?

Hi, I am a cameraman hoping to get into UAV filming and photography commercially. However I have no experience at all in flying UAVs. My interests lie in two areas:

1. Because of my family farming background, I am particularly interested in land/ crop surveys, moving on to doing full orthographic work. I also have ties to some conservation work which could really benefit from this.

2. My experience in shooting documentaries for the natural history/ adventure sectors also means I have a heavy interest in the cinematographic potential of bigger copters, carrying bigger cameras.

I know I am likely to be told that these are two very different areas which of course they are, but being still young my budget is not very impressive. As the Iris is designed for GoPro, I know that this will not produce amazing results for aerial photography of large areas, particularly detailed images of crops. However the new Pixhawk system, and the way the 3DR software is advancing, and the versatility and relative cheapness of the Iris (plus as a system to learn to fly on) makes me think I have to start here.

I have also considered planes, can anyone persuade me on one of these? I’ve looked at the Event 38 products but not done lots of research yet…

Any thoughts greatly appreciated! My main constraints are: budget and experience…

Thanks!

I think maybe an IRIS as a first step to familiarise yourself with the flying of the things may be wise before looking at spending lots of money and/ or risking expensive photographic equipment.

You can always progress to a larger frame with bigger motors/ more lift later and cannibalise the iris for the control gear/ Pixhawk etc