Taming the Hawk 5 to fly as beginner

Hi Guys,

I am very new to this FPV hobby, I have typically flown the DJI, after watching Mr Steele and Bardwell, I got very excited and bought a hawk5 and a Taranis just before Xmas, however as you can imagine my maiden flight was sheer panic, as it took off in to the stratosphere at the blip of a throttle, I really need to tame this beast to beginner mode, can anyone advise what steps can be taken on the aircraft and radio / Betaflight, so I can fly without crashing into the ground or moon hopping across the fields, yours gratefully
wackywez

Watch this from 4mins 29 seconds :slight_smile:

1 Like

yep 1st thing is defo slow rates down, as in vid above 400 to 500 degrees a second is fine,
2nd get some rc rate on so its softer around the stick centre rc rate between 20 to 30 should do.
3rd if you insist on angle mode, as in vid turn angle rate down so its not so aggressive to self level.
4th if you can go acro straight away, alot easier when FPVing, also try to practice somewhere enclosed with trees and dont go higher than trees.
finally make sure your buzzer works and failsafe.

dear Max and Dale
many many thanks for this will try this today , thx for taking time to give me your advice its really appriciated
happy CNY
best
wez