FY G3 for GoPro - Newbie Questions

I will be purchasing the FeiyuTech G3 2-Axis Brushless Gimbal for GoPro soon, but as I’m new to all this I would like to ask some questions. I have chosen this system because it is lightweight (<180g) and can be used upside down, attached to flat surfaces for remote presentations and interviews. I also only need the tilt movement to control.

Question 1:

I will be connecting our GoPro Hero 3+ to the GoPro Combo cable, which is connected to an external battery and external microphone. Our external battery (Anker Astro M3) has two outputs. The 1A output is being used to power the GoPro, whilst the other, a 2.1A output is free.

Is there any way through the use of an adaptor to connect the FeiyuTech Gimbal to the 2.1A output of the external battery? Any custom solutions? I can make the 1A output available if necessary.

Question 2:

I need to be able to control the tilt movement remotely from a distance. What is a simple receiver that would be best used for this purpose, controlling it with one hand? Around 10m range is fine.

Thank you.

The FY G3 is a great gimbal:-) Here are my answers to your questions

Answer to Q1:

Yes its possible as long as your battery is between 7v-14v (2-4s Lipo). Although I would suggest you go for something around 11V battery (a 3s Lipo), The FY G3 comes with a power cable with a loose end, so you can solder whatever type of battery connector you want to it. We usualy use JST style connectors.

Answer to Q2:

To control this from a distance I suggest you try look around ebay or something for a super cheap RC transmitter/receiver. Otherwise the actual gimbal itself has some push-buttons to adjust the pitch, or you could consider the handheld grip accessory

Hope that helps!