Newb Q800 Build

I will post here my progress building the Q800 Hex. Being a complete novice in the multicopter scene it might highlight a few ‘issues’ that the more experienced out there would sail through without thinking.

I don’t have any pictures yet but will come back and edit the post as I get time and inclination, in the mean time I will steal the ones from the shop.

So options I have gone for for this build…

Q800 Carbon fibre frame
FY G3 Brushless gimbal - This is a great little gimble for gopro :wink:
880kv motor, 30A ESC, 12" Prop set - Couldn’t decide between 850 and 880 so it was one potato two potato :smiley:
Hex Wiring harness
Pixhawk APM
Ublox GPS with Compass
3DR Telemetry
Fatshark Attitude FPV
3 Channel Video switch - Might not use it but while throwing money away like water I bought it just in case.

The first thing I did was to assemble the FY G3 gimbal, it is really pretty straight forward and the only mistake I made was putting the lower board on back to front… Just look closely at the picture to get it right way round.

I stuck the gopro in it and plugged the gimbal into a 3s pack and it worked a treat, does not come much easier than that I have to say. How easy it turns out to be to get it tilting under radio control remains to be seen…

Next up I built up the frame and so the first warning… DO NOT START ASSEMBLY UNTIL YOU HAVE THE MOTORS! also do not assemble all 6 arms as per assembly guide, two of them need to be passed through the holes in the fuselage strut before you fix the Arm Mount on otherwise you cannot get the strut fitted. The round hole in this part :wink:

Before you assemble the arms there are some parts not detailed in the assembly guide which fit into the ends of the arms to prevent the tube distorting when you fit the arm mounts and motor mounts.