New Build advice

. I am just starting out. Have not built anything yet. Just doing research. Any advice?

I am 3d printing a mavic pro.

My top priorities.

1. Fvp
  2. Long distance atleast 2km
  3. Stability mode
  4. Homing

Questions. Are there any combo kits that can accomplish my goals?

If not what would be the best

1. Motor. Size, kv and make
  2. FC
  3. ESC- 4 in 1?
  4. PDB- maybe combined with ESC
  5. Video transmitter receiver
  6. Transmitter and receiver

I know it is a lot to ask. Just dont want to start out sown the wrong road

Thanks

Bill

Sooo many ways to skin a cat but heres my 2pence

Fvp --- **FPV Camera most will work, Runcam, Foxeer, etc**
Long distance atleast 2km -- **TBS Crossfire**
Stability mode -- **on any FC**
Homing  -- **GPS**

Motor. Size, kv and make  -- **You want to look at a low KV motor**
FC -- **omnibus (supports gps)**
ESC- 4 in 1? -- **6S rated, any sooo many to choose from.**
PDB- **maybe combined with ESC -- as above**
Video transmitter receiver  -- **800mw VTX**
Transmitter and receiver -- **Taranis 9XD+ with Crossfire.**

Like with anything in this hobby. There are so many choices for parts and builds and a lot of it comes down to price range and preference.

I haven’t built a long-range quad yet, but it is on the list of build for the future.

If you are just starting out I would suggest you get a DIY build kit that already has all the bits you need as this is a great way to learn. As starting from scratch, although dooable will involve alot of reading, and possibly extra cost incase you order the wrong stuff.

My old Hex could fit 3 of those 4 priorities. I had a GoPro and gimbal for good FPV, the Hex provided stability in wind, and my power train could fly in relative calm winds for around 25-30 minutes. The only issue i had was range, but that is mostly due to me using a cheap TX for video, as i never flew beyond what i could receive.