Difficulties to solder cable to ESC pad

Hey guys,
I’m trying to solder one of the XT60 cable to my ESC pad,I used flux pen on the pad also on the cable, ironned both cable and pad,put a tip of solder on the edge of the iron solder after I shined whole of it with iron and sponge, then after all the preps, I can manage to solder a little on the pad, but as soon as I attempt to connect it to the batt cable, the solder on the pad sticks to the cable and just slips from the pad, doesn’t stick at all, what can I do?
Tried to rub the pad a little with some metal a little to charge it with negative charge.

arh the negative pad on a 4in1

The Negative pad has more copper to it than any other pad… its massive its like a big heat sink.
You need heat LOTS of heat.

Flux, + 450c iron + big tip.

I’m no solder expert but thats what I would try…
@Maximilian what would you do?

The negative pads are all linked across the board so you basically need to heat the whole board up to get the pad hot enough for the solder to adhere. The reason why the solder is running off is because the pad has not got hot enough.

You need to heat neg pads for longer. Soldering iron at 450 degrees, small blob of solder on the iron to conduct heat, hold it on for a few seconds then push a bit more solder in. It will seem to stick to the iron and not the pad. Keep the iron on and when the pad gets to temp the solder will suddenly flow onto the pad. At that point push more solder on to tin the pad.

At this point I would get the wire on to prevent having to reheat.

If you do need to reheat to get the wire on, push the iron into the pad and lay the wire on top of the iron until both become fully molten and then remove the iron letting the two bond.

What type of solder are you using? Much of it depends on the working temp of the solder.

1 Like