Fly 1500 miles point a to point b nonstop

Hello, I am looking to fly a gas or solar rc plane for 1500 miles nonstop from point A to point B using an autopilot system
What are your recomendations?

Ardupilot would be my recommendation. Plane Home — Plane documentation

I am new to this, would it work 1500 miles nonstop?

In theory, yes it should. I’ve seen flights using ardupilot with LTE connection for telemetry etc, but I’m guessing for 1500 miles, you’re going to need satellite connectivity or something for monitoring, or are you planning to use full autonomy for the flight?

Yes thats what I am guessing, use satellite connectivity for monitoring, is that difficult? Remember is point A to point B. What do you mean by full autonomy?

Do you haveany experience?

Full autonomy - the drone can fly by itself without any control from the base station (you) if it loses connection.
I’ve no experience of this kind of distance flight, but in terms of what you’re doing - my project for this year is to build a hexacopter with a raspberry pi at its core which is connected to a bunch of sensors that can be used for image recognition, obstacle avoidance and safe autonomous flight.

Hello Frank.

Your project sounds very interesting, and thanks for your response.
My project is a little different as you can see and I have almost no experience on this, but I am eager to do it. How possible do you see it? I have a couple of questions about the Ardupilot. You plan the trip on the Ardupilot to go from point A to point B 1500 miles apart, even if theres no connection between base and the plane it will still go to the progammed point? Will it send any kind of updates? Speed, direction, altitude?

How can I dm you? I cant seem to find the button

Hi Ponymalta,

Yes, if you use the base station software for ardupilot (e.g. Mission Planner) then you’d plan your flight on Mission Planner, upload it to the drone, then let it go off and do it’s thing.