Making new drone - what motor kv

i’m new in the world of drones and i really want to make a drone with the cheap chinese bldc motors so can i use high kv like 2200kv or should i stick with kv used in youtube videos (1400kv) ,and why ? and if i used the 2200kv motor can it fly normal or i will face problems and can i use 1000kv motors

Navigating the KV ratings of brushless motors in drones is indeed akin to finding the sweet spot between enjoying a cheeky sprint and ensuring you don’t end up with a spectacularly unplanned disassembly mid-air. Here’s a rundown to help demystify how KV, battery cells (S rating), and voltages play together.

Understanding KV and Voltage in Drones

KV Rating: This indicates how many revolutions per minute (RPM) a motor will make per volt of electricity without a load. It’s a crucial figure because it determines both the speed and torque characteristics of your motor.

Voltage (from the battery): Higher S ratings on batteries mean higher voltages. For instance:

• A 4S battery, which stands for 4 cells in series, typically provides about 14.8V (3.7V per cell).
  • A 6S battery steps it up to about 22.2V.

Why Different KVs for Different Voltages?

It’s all about balance and the law of “too much power equals the potential for a spectacular crash.” Higher voltages (more cells) provide more power. Pairing that with a high KV motor could lead to excessive speeds that aren’t practical or safe for controlled flying, especially for non-racing setups.

For 2207 Motors:

• 1800 KV on a 6S Battery (22.2V): This setup offers a balanced approach, giving you ample speed without going overboard. The lower KV with higher voltage compensates by maintaining high RPMs without excessive battery drain or motor overheating. This combo is good for efficient and responsive flights, suitable for both freestyle and racing while keeping the drone manageable.