Emax Nighthawk X5 Build Log

Hi. I’m just about to start a build log for the Emax Nighthawk X5 airframe. My aim is to build a good quality FPV racer drone and so I’m gonna choose high quality equipment so that I can get a nice speedy, reliable quad. I’m pretty new to this field and so I am sure I will make a few mistakes along the way but that’s all part of the fun right? So, keeping in mind my objective, here’s the equipment I have chosen to use:

What I’m Using

• The Emax Nighthawk X5 frame
    This frame looks to be a really nice frame for a FPV racer. It’s compact and all the components are contained in the centre of the frame, giving it nice balance and good reactions.

• RS2205 2300Kv motors from Emax
    These motors are basically the best around I think for the performance and the price. Lots of thrust to play with.

• 1300mah 45C 3S LiPo Battery/1300mah 75C 4S LiPo Battery
    Here, I will first be using the 45C 3S battery as I have one laying around and I need to improve my flying skills before venturing out into 4S territory. However, the plan is to eventually use the 75C 4S battery as this will give me more thrust and power.

• 4 x Cicada BLHeli_S 30A (2-4S) ESC
    I’m gonna use the BLHeli_S ESCs as the BLHeli_S firmware gives you a smoother motor response (check out more details in the What is BLHeli_S article). I am also going to use 30A ESCs as I eventually want to use a 4S battery (as mentioned above) and so I need this ampage. Check out the articel we have on How to Choose your motor/props/ESC for more information.

• The SPRacing F3 Evo Flight Controller
    This is a great flight controller for an FPV racer drone. It’s cheap, it hosts the new generation of CPU and sensors and it was designed by the Cleanflight creator, Dominic Clifton. This flight controller also has a black box micro SD card reader along with a race timing transponder so a pretty good choice I feel.

• The Taranis X9D+ Radio Control and X4RSB Receiver