DME University Project - Fully Autonomous Quadcopter for payload delivery

I am a university student in my second year at the University of Surrey. We have been assigned a project as part of a second year module with the brief:

‘Design and construct a device capable of delivering a payload of water to a target area at
altitude, for use in a fire-suppression application. Submissions will be assessed based on
their performance in a simulated emergency situation.’

My team and I have come up with a solution fulfilling all the specifications provided with the brief of using a quadcopter. Due to the design having to be fully autonomous and a small budget of £250 we have been looking for a control system that will allow us to complete the mission without any human interaction from the initial take off to landing. Arducopter was something we found and I was wondering if this would have the appropriate qualities for the job?
Is there a particular accuracy the system as as well as we have to deliver the payload to a small target zone of [ 600mm x 400mm ]
The target zone is positioned 60m down a flight zone and we also have to have a method of releasing the payload, also autonomously. We require a system to guide the quadcopter to the target zone and deliver the payload. Any information or ideas would be much appreciated.

Sounds like a fun project! If budget is the main thing and you dont mind fiddling around with loading firmware and editing some files yourself then I would suggest you go for either the multiwii based system with i2c Nav and GPS addons. However if you want something that runs the arducopter code (has much better features) then I would suggest you go for either APM2.6 system (easiest option), or the AIOP v2 board.

Overall if you have the budget I would go for the APM2.6 system as it comes with a better GPS module and is much easier to use and setup compared to AIOP.

Otherwise will be great if you keep us posted with your progress!